Browse Items (30 items total)
Center Point Knob was the original half way point of the Appalachian Trail when the Trail was first completed in 1937. The plaque pictured here commemorates that fact. The halfway point is now approximately 15 miles south, just south of Pine Grove Furnace State Park, the home of the Appalachian Trail Museum.
Collection: Iconic Locations
The Cove Mountain Shelter in Pennsylvania is located just south of Duncannon and the Susquehanna River. The shelter was built in 2002 by volunteers from the Mountain Club of Maryland near the site of the former Thelma Marks Shelter, which was the scene of the murder of Molly LaRue and Geoffrey Hood by Paul David Crews in September 1990.
The Darlington Shelter in Pennsylvania is a replacement for the original Darlington Shelter built in 1956 by Earl Shaffer, the first person to thru hike the Appalachian Trail in 1948. The shelter Shaffer built was replaced by the current structure in 1977 by the Mountain Club of Maryland, which still maintains the shelter. The shelter is named for Bishop James Henry Darlington, an early advocate of the Appalachian Trail.
The Toms Run Shelters are the last of the paired shelters in Southern Pennsylvania that northbound hikers experience as they approach the halfway point of the Trail, or the first of the paired shelters that southbound hikers come to on their way toward Maryland. The paired shelters of southern Pennsylvania are a unique feature of the Appalachian Trail in this region. They are maintained by volunteers of the Potomac Appalachian Trail Club.
The Windsor Furnace Shelter is located in Pennsylvania, north of the city of Reading. It is a traditional Adirondack style lean-to and was built in 1972. It is currently maintained by the Blue Mountain Eagle Climbing Club. Text from the reverse of the photograph reads: "Windsor Furnace Shelter, PA. John Rappaport, Landowner. This shelter erected in early 1972."
The Earl Shaffer Shelter, pictured here in August 2008, was dedicated to Earl Shaffer, the first person to hike the entire Appalachian Trail in one year. Shaffer, who grew up nearby, eventually asked that his name be taken off the shelter in 1983, because he felt it had become "too fancy" after the addition of a wooden floor, replacing the old dirt floor. The Susquehanna Appalachian Trail Club disassembled this shelter in 2008, and it now resides at the Appalachian Trail Museum at Pine Grove Furnace State Park (PA).
The Peters Mountain Shelter, pictured on January 1, 1980. This shelter is the replacement for the Earl Shaffer Shelter, which was removed from the Trail in the summer of 2008, and now resides at the Appalachian Trail Museum in Pine Grove Furnace State Park (PA). This shelter is maintained by volunteers from the Susquehanna Appalachian Trail Club, co-founded by Earl Shaffer.